It has been a bit

I know, I know, you have all been DYING for my next blog post.

To be honest, nothing really interesting has been happening. Well, thats not true but a lot of the stuff on my mind has been super boring or personal, and I promise, no one wants to be exposed to my current love life situation so I am going to spare you all on that one.

I DID however have a wonderful midterm break in which I was able to take off for a WHOLE WEEK from work. It was incredibly relaxing. I got to travel to Ajumako (a.k.a home a.k.a my heart and soul) and I was able to even spend a day at Heritage Academy which I have not yet been able to do since I arrived in Ghana because of my job.

If you follow me on all of my various forms of social media, you know that I have an obsession with my sweet baby Yaw. He is the son of one of my first friends in Ghana and we took to each other immediately. He was just a baby when we met but he totally had me. Ever since, I have been helping his dad with a couple of expenses for Yaw. Single parent household’s are difficult anywhere in the world, but Ghana is tough. Yaw has been very very very well loved by his extended family and close friends which is how I fit in. He recently became of age for attendance to Heritage Academy which is so so so so so so so exciting. Long story, short, we got Yaw into Heritage when I went back for the weekend and it was so exciting to see him there. He of course cried and clung to our legs for a little while but he settled in with the help of his cousins who are also students at Heritage.

People over the past few years keep asking me why I continue to go back to Heritage. Why I keep going back to a place that I have been time and time again, and I guess I don’t really have an answer. Coming to Ghana wasn’t just a trip for me. My life changed. The people, my now friends and family, stuck with me past the “post-traveling” depression. Yes my life kept moving in the U.S. and all of their lives kept moving in Ghana, but we were linked. A piece of my heart was on the other side of the world, and I never wanted to say goodbye.

Attending Westtown School gave me the opportunity to find a passion that I would have never even dreamed of. In knowing a little bit about Ghana, I knew a ton more about the world. For that, I will be eternally grateful to my high school. Indeed, I would not be living in Ghana if it was not for my senior project. Westtown changed my life, and I didn’t even see it coming.

I was 19 my first time to Ghana, now, I am about to reach 24 and the love is still there. I still smile when I drive into town. People in my car often notice that I am smile and start laughing at me, but I don’t mind. Ajumako is like going home, and that is the BEST feeling.

When I was home that weekend, I also learned to make one of my favorite Ghanaian dishes, groundnut soup. To be honest, it is a lot easier than I expected and I have no idea why I haven’t been cooking it in all of these years. I haven’t tried the recipe on my own yet, but I definitely will. I have a few friends here who doubt my ability so I want to prove to them that I can cook.

I guess that is all I have for now! I love you all. Thank you for the continued prayers and support. Please keep them coming. As much as I love being in Ghana, there are still difficult parts about living 5,000 miles away from your “normal life”. It can be depressing and a bit lonely, so please keep sending good thoughts and prayers.

Much love,

Jordan

Leave a Reply

