Moving forward

HI GUYS! Oh my goodness gracious, it has been so long since I have posted and there are multiple reasons for that and I promise I will always all of the BURNING questions that you all have in this post. 🙂

Ok long story, short, I have been MIA because I quit my job and pursued an amazing opportunity. In fact, this amazing opportunity has been a dream of mine since I was tiny. If you know me well, you know that the only things I have ever truly loved are Ghana and singing. Well, I am so honored, amazed, blessed, shocked, excited to announce that I will soon be a full time singer with Lumina and the Accra Symphony Orchestra here in Accra, Ghana!!! Over the past few months I have learned that following your instincts and being bold are incredibly important qualities in adult life. Now, I know many people already tell me that I am bold and adventurous because at 23 years old I decided to pack my bags and move 5,000 miles away from my family and friends, BUT, imagine how bold one would have to be to track down the director of an orchestra and basically spend 2 months trying to convince him to hire you. Yeah, to be honest, I don’t think I have ever fought for something so hard, but in the end, it paid off and I am so excited to get started. This opportunity is a dream come true. Not only am I living in Ghana, I get to sing every single day which is surreal and to be honest, a bit unbelievable. I actually still don’t think that it has hit me, it probably will when I start working and my vocal chords become exhausted. I can’t wait!

***

I am going to be honest, I have learned so much about myself since the time I last posted on here. A lot has happened. Obviously good things, but definitely a few bad things as well. Of course, bad things are an inevitable part of growing up, right? We have to experience heartbreak, stress, budgeting, planning, etc. or else we aren’t learning anything… right? Well, I hope that’s right, because I have to believe that pain ultimately leads to good things.

Independence. Something that my mom and I keep talking about. That is the biggest part about living in a foreign country alone. You spend a whooooole lot of time taking care of yourself. Protecting yourself, encouraging yourself, being brave, being bold. Learning how to be trusting… but not too trusting. Learning how to be aggressive, but not too aggressive. Learning how to be smart, but matching it with humility. Independence is good, but independence is lonely. I guess what I am trying to say is that living in Ghana has indeed made me bold, brave, and independent, but there is always room for progress. There will always be something that can bring you down (trust me, my life right now is proof) but the key is to be able to pick yourself and move forward. Now, I am not going to pretend that moving forward is something that is easy for me. In fact, it is incredibly difficult for me however, sometimes that is all we can do. With help (lots and lots and lots of help, even from the most unlikely of sources) I have been making progress, and that would not be happening if I wasn’t living here in Ghana.

I have no idea if I am making sense right now. I have 4 months of thoughts racing through my mind right now. All I am really trying to say is thank you. To all of the people that I love, to all of the people that love me. To everyone who I have confided in over the past few months, to old friends and new, to my mom, to every single person who has felt pain as a result of seeing my pain, I am so blessed to have you all. I’m not strong like superwoman, but I am trying to be, and you guys make it possible for me to do that.

I love you all. Thanks for letting me ramble. 🙂

Love,

J

One thought on “Moving forward

  1. Jordan, I am so proud of you. Doing what you love is even sweeter once you’ve faught for it and won.
    May every adventure you encounter be a stepping stone to attaining all you desire.
    Keep dreaming , keep reaching for the stars, and keep blogging. 💞😊.
    Love you,
    Grammy

    Like

Leave a Reply

